Don’t be a prisoner

If you can’t do anything about it then let it go. Don’t be a prisoner to things that you can’t change.

Tony Gaskins

During the onslaught of seasonal depression that couples with the cold dreary weather for so many, I chose to focus on the things that I CAN change. There are always things that can’t be changed, that we have to find some ways to adapt to them. However, changing how we handle things is always an option as well. I have toxic family members just like so many others but at this point I have learned to let their comments, annoying questions and constant judgement bounce off of me.

It sounds so easy but I assure you it is not. I have told myself for years that their opinions of the world and the people that are in it comes from their own upbringing and mental health. They wouldn’t chose to tear you apart unless it makes them feel better about themself. The only way that specific type of behavior makes someone feel better is if they are absolutely shredded inside and trying to hold it all together with bandaid fixes, like evil thrills.

Not that I think that you should care about that for everyone, but It helps me understand and not allow them to win in this scenario.

4 thoughts on “Don’t be a prisoner

Add yours

  1. The “let it go” part is always the hardest. I’ve still not managed to completely let go of some stuff I cannot change. But since October of last year, I’m focusing daily on changing one very important thing that I CAN change…so that’s something at least.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑